Young Scholars Network on Privacy and Web 2.0

Young Scholars Network on Privacy and Web 2.0

The15 international participants of the network come from the Harvard University, the University of Amsterdam, the Michigan State University, the City University of Hong Kong, the University of Bath, Hamburg University, the Hans-Bredow-Institut Hamburg, the Berlin University of the Arts, the University of Hohenheim, the University of Mainz and the University of Duisburg-Essen.

The network pursues three objectives:

  • 1. Besides a systematic conceptualisation of methods and theories of privacy on the internet,
  • 2. an international comparison of the respective approach of privacy and self-disclosure in the web 2.0 is planned.
  • 3. Further the development of a research agenda is aimed for, illustrating how developments of privacy and self-disclosure on the internet can be attended academically.
Duration of the Project: 1 January 2010 to 31 December 2011.
show more

Project Description

Participants of the Network

Project Management and Applications

Jun.-Prof. Dr. Sabine Trepte, Hamburg Media Schoool / Universität Hamburg
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Leonard Reinecke, Hamburg Media Schoool / Universität Hamburg


Assistant Prof. Dr. Nicole Ellison, Michigan State University, USA
Dr. Adam Joinson, University of Bath, UK
Prof. Dr. Jochen Peter, University of Amsterdam, Niederlande
Dr. Mike Yao, City University of Hong Kong, China
Kevin Lewis, Harvard University, USA
Dr. Jan-Hinrik Schmidt, Hans-Bredow-Institut, Hamburg
Dr. Monika Taddicken, Universität Hohenheim
Cornelia Jers, Universität Hohenheim
Prof. Dr. Oliver Quiring, Universität Mainz
Jun.-Prof. Dr. Maren Hartmann, Berlin Universität der KÜnste
PD Dr. Wiebke Loosen, Hans-Bredow-Institut, Hamburg
Prof. Dr. Nicole Krämer, Universität Duisburg-Essen
Nina Haferkamp, Universität Duisburg-Essen


Prof. Dr. Joseph Walther, Michigan State University, USA
Prof. Dr. Uwe Hasebrink, Hans-Bredow-Institut, Hamburg

Project Information


Duration: 2010-2011

Research programme:
Further Projects

Cooperation Partner

Prof. Dr. Sabine Trepte, Hamburg Media School
Teilnehmer des Netzwerks (pdf-Datei)

Contact person

Prof. Dr. Wiebke Loosen
Senior Researcher Journalism Research

Prof. Dr. Wiebke Loosen

Leibniz-Institut für Medienforschung | Hans-Bredow-Institut (HBI)
Rothenbaumchaussee 36
20148 Hamburg

Tel. +49 (0)40 45 02 17 - 91
Fax +49 (0)40 45 02 17 - 77




Subscribe to our newsletter and receive the Institute's latest news via email.