Element 68Element 45Element 44Element 63Element 64Element 43Element 41Element 46Element 47Element 69Element 76Element 62Element 61Element 81Element 82Element 50Element 52Element 79Element 79Element 7Element 8Element 73Element 74Element 17Element 16Element 75Element 13Element 12Element 14Element 15Element 31Element 32Element 59Element 58Element 71Element 70Element 88Element 88Element 56Element 57Element 54Element 55Element 18Element 20Element 23Element 65Element 21Element 22iconsiconsElement 83iconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsiconsElement 84iconsiconsElement 36Element 35Element 1Element 27Element 28Element 30Element 29Element 24Element 25Element 2Element 1Element 66
Uwe Hasebrink Retired

Uwe Hasebrink Retired

On 1 October 2021, Prof. Dr. Uwe Hasebrink, Director of the Leibniz Institute for Media Research | Hans-Bredow-Institut (HBI), retired early for private reasons. Having been at the Institute since 1986, and a member of the Board of Directors from 1998, he put the Institute on a stable footing for the future when it became a member of the Leibniz Association in 2019, and has represented it as a member of the Board of Directors ever since.
Uwe Hasebrink has decisively shaped the Institute both internally and externally and has made significant advances in communication science, especially when it comes to research on media use and effects, in numerous international cooperation projects. The fields of youth media, radio and journalism research as well as media studies have also benefited from his work. Students and cooperation partners in science and practice appreciate his well thought-out and connectable impulses. As a science communicator, he has advised both media policy and public broadcasting. As a teacher, he has been able to motivate and inspire the next generation of students and academics for the subject of communication studies.
Due to Corona, a farewell party could only take place virtually with members of the Institute. "The appreciative culture that Uwe Hasebrink has established at the HBI is also noticeable to people outside the institute. We will try to maintain this and thank him sincerely for everything we were able to learn from him. Even though he, in particular, always emphasises the joint effort, it becomes clear in moments like this how influential individual research personalities like Uwe Hasebrink are," says Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schulz, also a member of the Institute's Board of Directors.
The appointment procedure for Uwe Hasebrink's successor to the professorship for "Empirical Communication Studies" jointly established by the University of Hamburg and the HBI is currently underway. In addition to extensive research work at the Institute, this position is linked to teaching at the University of Hamburg. For the time being, only Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Schulz and Dipl.-Kffr. Kristina Hein form the Board of Directors of the HBI
Brochure "Medienumgebungen. Auf den Spuren von Uwe Hasebrink [Media Environments. On the Trail of Uwe Hasebrink]" Available for Download in German/English
The brochure "Medienumgebungen. Auf den Spuren von Uwe Hasebrink [Media Environments. On the Trail of Uwe Hasebrink]" is intended to do justice to the extremely modest person of Uwe Hasebrink. It pays tribute to him and his work rather indirectly and looks more at the fields in which he was and is active. The texts by companions and colleagues are intended to answer questions such as “In which field/topic area has Uwe Hasebrink left his mark?” and “What does this mean for this area today and in the future?”.

Leibniz Institute for Media Research (ed.): Medienumgebungen. Auf den Spuren von Uwe Hasebrink [Media Environments. On the Trail of Uwe Hasebrink]. Hamburg: Verlag Hans-Bredow-Institut, ISBN 978-3-87296-172-3,
With Contributions by Otfried Jarren; Wolfgang Hoffmann-Riem; Gerhard Vowe; Friedrich Krotz; Ralph Weiß; Kim Christian Schrøder; Sascha Hölig; Andreas Hepp; Claudia Lampert; Wiebke Loosen; Hans-Ulrich Wagner; Joan Kristin Bleicher; Roberto Suárez Candel; Wolfgang Schulz; Carsten Brosda; Eva Holtmannspötter; Irene Neverla; Michel Clement; Lisa Merten, Sophie Wagner and Juliane Finger as well as Paulina Keller, Lisa Thomae, Mika Parlowsky and Daniel Wehrend.

You can download the brochure free of charge (pdf, in German/English).

Picture: Farewell party via Zoom on 30 September 2021 / Screenshot


Subscribe to our newsletter and receive the Institute's latest news via email.